Evade

Björn Ironside

Evade

Sat Jan 02, 2021 2:13 pm

Hello everyone. I'm Italian, so forgive me if my English is not perfect.

My first question is about Evade:

" “This action is an alternative to Parry, and can be used to avoid melee attacks, certain traps and special attacks by creatures, but not ranged attacks. Unlike Parry, no other action can be performed while Evading.
A single melee attack can be evaded by rolling on the Agility skill. The Battle Maneuver discipline and the Evade specialty adds to the SV but are not a requirement. Levels in the Evade specialty allow multiple Evade attempts (see the Player’s Handbook). A character only needs to attempt to evade attacks that have already successfully rolled to hit.”"

I put in bold the part that bothers me. As an ex-martial artist I'm used to think of evasion as a good manouver that can be performed in a fight. Just like a parry.
So, considering a real fight, I know it is equally possible to parry and counter-attack or evade while attacking.
Transposing this it in game terms, it should be a risky manouver to use if you have already spent all your CP in attack or parries.
While playing with my friends, we have been using it that way: you can use evade even if you have already parried or attacked during the round, and even after evading you can still use attack and parries if you have remainging CP.
If I were to go with the more literal interpretation of the rules, it seems that if I have used evade during the round I can do no other attack or parry, which seems to be pretty useless. If this interpretation is correct, I have a follow up question: in what kind of scenario would it be preferable to use evade?

Råttfångaren

Re: Evade

Sat Jan 02, 2021 4:57 pm

hi!